Essentials

Leading sales teams during crisis

I started my career as a young graduate with a field sales job at Xerox in the spring of 1990.  I joined the company right at the outbreak of the Gulf War, a conflict between Iraq and a US-led coalition of 35 countries which lasted from August 2, 1990 to February 28, 1991. We witnessed […]

Read more

5 frequent sources of stress during remote sales pitches

The business downturn caused by the COVID crisis has left some professions on the wayside, but one job remained in high demand during the lockdown we just went through. That’s right, I’m talking about sales representatives.  Most companies are putting pressure on their deal hunters to reduce the impact of a crisis that is unprecedented […]

Read more

Sales coaching: the manager’s role in building confidence

It’s the start of the year, so many managers are getting ready to present their action plan and mobilize their troops, to boost energy and reach their performance targets. Many managers put care into fostering motivation and skill development. That’s a great start. It’s rarer to come across managers who naturally make a concerted effort […]

Read more

Why are 100% distance-sales training programs operating at peak efficiency?

If you’re interested in developing your skills, you NEED to read this book(1). You don’t have a choice—it’s a gold mine, a gem of a book that describes in detail how to truly develop skills effectively. It’s an incredibly insightful read that covers 30 years of research on the secrets that explain how the best got […]

Read more

Sales coaching practice makes perfect!

You’re not going to believe me, but I just met an exceptional golf player. He only needed one lesson to learn the fundamentals of the swing, and has not taken any classes or received any tips since. All it took was a single lesson for him to pick it up. He became an exceptional player in […]

Read more

New managers: how to screw up in just a few days!

This article was inspired by an old friend who recently resigned from his job. While he didn’t think the company was perfect, he enjoyed his job and everyone was satisfied with his contribution. So there was no reason for him to resign so suddenly. A few days with the new head of sales was all […]

Read more

Adaptive Learning: train your teams more quickly and effectively

If you want to train your sales teams in, say, mastering a new offering, you have several solutions at your disposal. You can provide a trainer or coach that will guide each of your staff on an individual basis. That’s as good as it gets in terms of effective teaching. Obviously if you have a […]

Read more

Coaching salespeople: it’s better when both sides are willing participants!

You only need to spend a few minutes on LinkedIn to realize the extent to which managers bear the burden of lofty expectations, huge ones, day in, day out. They have to be role models, see the big picture, foster progress, help others succeed, remain kind under all circumstances, transition from vertical to horizontal management, […]

Read more

Did the buyers win? Not so sure…

The title of this article was inspired by my recent rereading of the book published by my associate, Frédéric Vendeuvre, and Christopher Guerin, CEO of Nexans. The book is a gold mine for anyone seeking to lead a sales transformation project at their company. The “differentiated sales” process laid out in the work is not […]

Read more

How to really develop your sales skills!

if you’re a regular reader of this blog, you know that developing sales skills is one of our passions at Halifax Consulting. It’s our guiding purpose, in fact. Every year I read many business books on my own time and every now and then I discover a gem. PEAK (1), by Anders Ericsson and Robert […]

Read more

Les essentiels

Les 5 stress de la visio

Si la crise du du Covid a laissé sur le banc de touche certains professionnels, les commerciaux, eux, ont dû rester sur le terrain et même intensifier leurs jeux ! Face à l’urgence, il a fallu improviser et adapter de nouvelles techniques de vente via le téléphone et internet…. Un autre outil a surtout su […]

Lire la suite

Pourquoi les formations commerciales 100% distancielles sont-elles au PEAK de l’efficacité ?

Si vous vous intéressez au développement des compétences, vous DEVEZ lire ce livre. Vous n’avez pas le choix, c’est une mine d’or. C’est une pépite qui décrit dans le détail les façons de développer les compétences de manière vraiment efficace. Cet ouvrage est d’une densité incroyable et résume 30 ans de recherche sur les secrets […]

Lire la suite

Coaching Commercial : le rôle du manager dans la confiance

En ce début d’année, nombre de managers s’apprêtent à présenter leur plan d’action et à mobiliser leurs troupes pour stimuler les énergies et atteindre les niveaux de performance attendues. Bien souvent, les managers se préoccupent de la motivation et du développement des compétences. C’est déjà très bien. On en rencontre moins qui spontanément, spécifiquement, se […]

Lire la suite

Comment recruter les meilleurs commerciaux ?

Les managers commerciaux sont toujours impliqués dans les recrutements pour leurs équipes mais pas toujours certains d’être en mesure de répondre aux bonnes questions :• Comment être certain de sélectionner le bon candidat ?• Comment donner envie aux meilleurs de me rejoindre ?• Comment valider la motivation ?• Comment vérifier la maîtrise des compétences clés […]

Lire la suite

Coaching commercial : répétez et faites répéter encore et encore !

Vous n’allez sans doute pas le croire, mais je viens rencontrer un joueur de golf exceptionnel. Il lui a suffi d’une leçon pour comprendre les principes clés du swing et depuis, il n’a jamais plus pris de cours ni reçu de conseils particuliers. Une seule leçon et le tour était joué. Il est devenu en […]

Lire la suite

Nouveau manager : comment se planter en quelques jours !

Cet article m’a été inspiré par un ami de longue date qui vient de démissionner de son poste. Même si l’entreprise n’était pas parfaite à ses yeux, son job lui plaisait et tout le monde était satisfait de ses contributions. Il n’y avait donc aucune raison pour lui de démissionner subitement. Et pourtant, quelques jours […]

Lire la suite

Adaptive Learning : Former vos équipes plus vite et plus efficacement

Si vous voulez former vos équipes commerciales, par exemple, à la maîtrise d’une nouvelle offre, plusieurs solutions s’offrent à vous : • Vous pouvez  proposer un formateur ou un coach qui s’occupera de chacun de vos collaborateurs, de façon individuelle. C’est le top du top en matière d’efficacité pédagogique. • Évidemment si vous avez beaucoup […]

Lire la suite

Coaching des commerciaux : c’est mieux quand les deux sont consentants !

Il suffit de passer quelques minutes sur LinkedIn pour constater à quel point les attentes vis-à-vis des managers sont grandes, immenses, répétées jour après jour… Il faut qu’ils soient exemplaires, qu’ils donnent du sens, qu’ils fassent progresser, qu’ils aident à réussir, qu’ils soient bienveillants en toutes circonstances, qu’ils passent d’un management vertical à un management […]

Lire la suite

Les acheteurs ont-ils gagné ? Pas sûr…

Le titre de cet article m’a été inspiré par la relecture récente de l’ouvrage publié par Frédéric Vendeuvre et Christopher Guerin, le CEO de Nexans.…Cet ouvrage est une mine d’or pour celui qui veut conduire un projet de transformation commerciale de son entreprise. Le process de « vente différenciée » qui y est décrit n’est pas une […]

Lire la suite

Comment (vraiment) développer vos compétences commerciales !

Si vous lisez régulièrement ce blog, vous savez que le développement des compétences commerciales est une de nos passions, c’est même la raison d’être d’Halifax Consulting. À titre personnel, je lis tous les ans de très nombreux ouvrages professionnels et de temps en temps je tombe sur une pépite. PEAK(1), l’ouvrage d’Anders Ericsson et Robert […]

Lire la suite